Why is Rolex so popular?

Hi, I’m new to the watch enthusiast land and, after finding out about brands such as Jager, Glashutte, Patek etc, I quickly found myself asking one question. Why is Rolex so popular, despite being so boring/unimpressive?

I get the whole ‘brand identity’, but they’re doing nothing new, and are clearly just ramping up their prices because they can!

2 Likes

Brand identity is basically it. Think of them as Apple; they don’t do anything new, but what they do do, they do well, which has earned them a cult following that is nigh on unsinkable!

Long live the years where you could get a submariner for £1500!

2 Likes

Long live those years indeed Toby, and welcome to our Club.
There are plenty of reasons, and a long story behind, that explain why Rolex is more than one step ahead of the rest.

It’s truly hard to summarize the Rolex saga in one go.

One major point is that they have always set up a clear strategy, offered a reasonable product portfolio and worked hard on producing sturdy luxury sports watches you can virtually wear under every condition, ranging from formal to business casual.

Also, they’ve applied a “continuous improvement” process. Take a look at a Porsche 911 as a great example: evolution rather than revolution paired to an upmarket communication strategy, in the benchmark.

Finally, they’re not a public company, which means they can manage the offer vs demand curve as they prefer, other than working hard with building the Rolex’s heritage and appeal over the years (thematic auctions, great celebrities of the past).

Again, please take the above a super quick summary of what I do think.

1 Like

Couldn’t have put it better myself!

What makes Rolex the best watch maker out there in my eyes is summed up entirely in the 126600. It’s a hardcore dive watch, that is so good looking and unobtrusive, I wear it to work having completely forgot that it has a crush depth of 10,000 feet.

Oh and the brand. Can’t forget the brand.